The Law Office of James Davis, P.A.

Jacksonville DUI Lawyer

In the state of Florida, drunk driving is a serious crime that can endanger your safety as well as cause you to get your license suspended or revoked, cause you to incur steep fines, and land you in jail. Therefore, if you are facing a DUI charge, you will want to have a Jacksonville criminal defense lawyer on your side to advise you on the penalties and possible outcomes of your case.

In the state of Florida, drunk driving is a serious crime that can endanger your safety as well as cause you to have your license suspended or revoked, incur steep fines, or potentially land in jail. Therefore, if you are facing a DUI charge, you will want to have a Jacksonville criminal defense lawyer on your side to advise you on the penalties and possible outcomes of your case.   In Florida, an arrest for drunk driving can land you in jail for up to nine months on your very first offense.  In addition, you may face fines ranging from $500 to $2,000.  Furthermore, you may have your license suspended for up to a year.  The penalties for your second and third DUI offense are even more severe.  If you have been stopped and charged with a DUI in the Jacksonville, Florida area you need an experienced DUI attorney in Jacksonville to advocate for you.
Under Florida law, if your blood alcohol content is 0.08% or higher while you are operating a motor vehicle, you can be charged with a DUI.  In addition, for people under the age of 21, a blood alcohol content of 0.02% or higher can result in a DUI charge.  For those operating commercial vehicles, a blood alcohol content of 0.04% or higher is all that is required for the person to be charged with a DUI.  Criminal defense attorneys know how to advocate for you if you find yourself in this negative circumstance.  When you are pulled over with a BAC over the legal limit, retaining the services of a DUI lawyer Jacksonville can help you receive the best outcome possible in your case.
Additionally, in the state of Florida, there are penalties for refusing to take chemical tests to determine your blood alcohol content.  The penalties for the refusal to take chemical tests range from a one year license suspension for your first offense to 18 months for the second and third offense. In addition, in the state of Florida you must request an administrative hearing within ten days if you are facing a license suspension.  Therefore, it you have been stopped and charged with a DUI in the Jacksonville, Florida area, having the right Jacksonville DUI lawyer on your side can help you achieve the best outcome from a bad situation.